NORRA Mexican 1000 2015 - Baja Race



Live Info

NORRA Mexican 1000, 2015

The First Baja 1000

The tech inspection and fun begin on April 24th 2014, Racing begins on with bikes on Saturday April 25th and cars on Sunday April 26th. News media, sponsors, and those interested in seeing and talking to the racers should show up on Friday. As the race consists of five legs for bikes and four legs for cars media may want to consider being at the ending and starting locations for each leg.

Motorcycles will begin the race after the Tech Inspection in Ensenada.

Cars will begin the race on April 26th 




Mexicali ~ Bahia de Los Angeles ~ Loreto ~ La Paz ~ San Jose del Cabo

The GENERAL TIRE NORRA MEXICAN 1000, official site, off road race runs down the east coast of Baja. The unique, four-day on and off-road vintage flavored rally through Baja that takes place April 27 - May 1, 2013.

The top five winners in the 2012 vintage class were:

  1. Michael Gaughan 
  2. Mark McMillin 
  3. John Swift 
  4. David Westhem   
  5. Brian Collins

March 22nd Mint 400 and NORRA have put togeather a "show and shin" event in Las Vegas for vintage off road trophy machines ... More Info.

Uncovered is the remarkable Mickey Thompson-built Challenger IV single-seat unlimited open-wheel racecar. Brought back to life by Rory Ward, the unique and complex front engine racer took part in the 1978, 1979 and 1980 Mint 400s driven by its legendary creator and his son Danny. 

Evolution class winners were:

  1. Clyde Stacy
  2. Calvin Jensen
  3. Jerry Herbst 
  4. Rudy Lekar   
  5. Ben Schlimme

In 2012 JT Taylor Finished NORRA Mexican 1000  in Ultra4 Car Winning the Evolution 4x4 Class. Refering to the race as, "This is the funest race on the planet, and I've been around the planet," and, "On a more serious note, it is an honor to be able to be welcomed by the entire NORRA staff and all the legendary drivers into their group after racing this week."

Although the car is not a vintage class it does have a lot of history.

More Info

Motorcycle class winners were:

  1. Octavio Valle   
  2. Michael Gilkey   
  3. Malcolm Smith   
  4. Gus Holcomb  
  5. Chris Vestal